Independent Research Entry – Rick Rubin

Rick Rubin is highly respected and known as being a great producer in the music industry both for his production and work in rock, heavy metal, and hip-hop music. He was a cofounder of Def Jam Records record label which launched the career of some of New York’s greatest hip-hop acts such as the Beastie Boys, Run-DMC, & Public Enemy. Rick Rubin, who is equally as notable as a rock/heavy metal producer as he is a hip-hop producer, also worked on albums with Johnny Cash, Slayer, Aerosmith, ZZ Top and more. He has won the Grammy Producer Of The Year in 2007 and 2009. Rick Rubin is great at genre-blending and many of the hip-hop acts he worked with have some rock influenced production and the rock artists he worked with have some production that was hip-hop influenced. One of his recognizable production techniques is how he typically leaves the vocals mostly unprocessed and dry accompanied with very little instrumentation. He makes the rest of the instruments more prevalent once the song is reaching its climax. Rick Rubin has been one of my main influences when it comes to expanding into different genres with my own music. I have a strong passion for rap and hip-hop but until I came to realize how much other great music is out there through learning from producers such as Rubin is when I really began to appreciate music in it’s entirety. Rubin has taught me to not limit myself to one genre or type of music and to at least try other things with my music to become more creative and well rounded as an artist. I will definitely still have the most influence and music created in the hip-hop genre but I do see myself making material in other genres as well such as jazz, soul, rock, and electronic dance music with my own rap influence portrayed.

Leave a Reply

